- Brynjar Sigurdarson -

Brynjar Sigurðarson

Iceland — b. 1986

Biography

Brynjar Sigurðarson (1986) received a master’s degree in product design from ECAL (Lausanne), in 2011, and a bachelor degree from The Iceland Academy of the Arts (Reykjavík). Since 2011 he has been establishing his studio along with teaching at the Masters Department at ECAL. He founded Studio Brynjar & Veronika in 2014.

Brynjar Sigurðarson´s work is very linked to storytelling and narratives, which are deeply rooted in Icelandic culture. He uses various media such as drawings, photography, video, sound and furniture in order to convey his work in a fruitful and a specific way...

Brynjar Sigurðarson (1986) received a master’s degree in product design from ECAL (Lausanne), in 2011, and a bachelor degree from The Iceland Academy of the Arts (Reykjavík). Since 2011 he has been establishing his studio along with teaching at the Masters Department at ECAL. He founded Studio Brynjar & Veronika in 2014.

Brynjar Sigurðarson´s work is very linked to storytelling and narratives, which are deeply rooted in Icelandic culture. He uses various media such as drawings, photography, video, sound and furniture in order to convey his work in a fruitful and a specific way.

The strength of the work tends to lie in the research and the way of approach within the field of design; to look and investigate cultural values and translate them in the shape of objects. In this case, the initial goal is to create a visual universe, speaking the language of the Icelandic fishing village.

« A big part of my work deals with the Icelandic fishing and harbor environment, started with a one month stay in a remote fishing village in the northeast of Iceland, called Vopnafjörður. Since the trip, I have continuously worked on “exercises” and examinations on how to translate shapes, materials and details from the harbor and the coastal environment. The objects vary from furniture with abstract functions, sticks arranged with ropes and collected objects, porcelain pebble stones, ocean like glass vases and furniture referring to the fishing harbors in Iceland. »

(Brynjar Sigurðarson).

Recent studio projects involve work for Camper, CIRVA, Manufacture de Sèvres, PCM, Spark Design Space. His works have been exhibited in various exhibitions around the world. His documentary, Borgþór Sveinsson, produced by Frosti Gnarr was presented at the Art Film Festival in Den Bosch (Holland) and was recently acquired as part of the permanent collection of MAK, Vienna.

Currently, Brynjar Sigurðarson is working with his partner Veronika Sedlmair on various projects ranging from, furniture, accessories, performance related projects, as well as self-produced objects sold from the studio called Society of Things.

In 2011 he received the Grand Prix at the Design Parade 6 in Villa Noailles, (Hyères) and in 2015 he was awarded with the Swiss Design Award as well as a honorable mention at the Hublot Design Prize.

In summer 2015, a vinyl book about Brynjar’s work under the name Things that Happened, was published:

« Brynjar’s way of working can perhaps best be compared to the attitude of a hunter on a constant lookout for the unusual, becoming one with the very world he’s studying. He lets himself be taken in by a place, its materials and habits, and intuitively reassembles these elements into ritualistic objects and scenes. »

(Sophie Krier – Things that happened, Field Essays, 2015).

Solo Shows

Brynjar Sigurðarson - the silent village
Solo Show

November 28, 2013 - February 08, 2014

Group Shows

Brynjar Sigurðarson - PAD Paris 2022
Fair

April 06 - April 10, 2022

Brynjar Sigurðarson - 'inside'
Group Show

December 08, 2021 - April 09, 2022

Brynjar Sigurðarson - Design Miami / Basel 2021
Fair

September 20 - September 26, 2021

Brynjar Sigurðarson - artmonte-carlo 2021
Fair

July 15 - July 17, 2021

Brynjar Sigurðarson - One piece a day
Group Show

September 12 - October 22, 2016

Brynjar Sigurðarson - Design Miami / Basel 2016
Fair

June 13 - June 19, 2016

Brynjar Sigurðarson - convergences
Group Show

May 21 - July 26, 2014

Brynjar Sigurðarson - O.K.
Group Show

March 22 - June 01, 2013

Publications

Image

Brynjar Sigurðarson

Islande — n. 1986

Biographie

Brynjar Sigurðarson (1986) est diplômé du Master en design de produit de l’ECAL (Lausanne) et d’un bachelor à l’Iceland Academy of the Arts (Reykjavík). Depuis 2011, il mène de front son activité de designer et enseignement au sein du département des Masters à l’ECAL. Il a fondé en 2014 son propre studio, Studio Brynjar & Veronika.

L’œuvre de Brynjar Sigurðarson est étroitement liée à une dimension du conte, profondément ancrée dans la culture islandaise. Il utilise différents media, tels le dessin, la photographie, la vidéo, le son ou encore le mobilier, qui, réunis, composent une œuvre féconde et singulière...

Brynjar Sigurðarson (1986) est diplômé du Master en design de produit de l’ECAL (Lausanne) et d’un bachelor à l’Iceland Academy of the Arts (Reykjavík). Depuis 2011, il mène de front son activité de designer et enseignement au sein du département des Masters à l’ECAL. Il a fondé en 2014 son propre studio, Studio Brynjar & Veronika.

L’œuvre de Brynjar Sigurðarson est étroitement liée à une dimension du conte, profondément ancrée dans la culture islandaise. Il utilise différents media, tels le dessin, la photographie, la vidéo, le son ou encore le mobilier, qui, réunis, composent une œuvre féconde et singulière.

Son travail trace avec force un cheminement au sein du champ du design ; observant et étudiant les valeurs culturelles et les transcrit sous la forme d’objets. Dans le cas présent, le but initial est la création d’un univers visuel, parlant la langue d’un village de pêcheurs islandais.

« Une grande part de mon travail traite de la pêche islandaise et des espaces portuaires, il a commencé lors d’un séjour d’un mois dans un village de pêcheurs isolé au Nord-Est de l’Islande, du nom de Vopnafjörður. Depuis ce voyage, j’ai continuellement travaillé sur des ‘’exercices’’ et études portant sur la manière de traduire les formes, matériaux et détails du port et de son environnement côtier. Les objets varient entre mobilier aux fonctions abstraites, bâtons entourés de cordes et d’objets collectés, des galets en porcelaine, océan composé de vases en verre et meuble faisant référence aux ports de pêches islandais. » (Brynjar Sigurðarson)

Les récents projets du studio incluent des réalisations pour Camper, CIRVA, la Manufacture de Sèvres, PCM, Spark Design Space. Nombre de ses œuvres ont été exposées dans le monde entier. Son documentaire, Borgþór Sveinsson, produit par Frosti Gnarr a été présenté à l’Art Film Festival à Den Bosch (Pays-Bas) et a récemment intégré la collection permanent du MAK de Vienne. Actuellement, Brynjar travaille avec sa partenaire Veronika Sedlmair sur différents projets déclinés entre mobilier, accessoires, performance pour des projets annexes, ainsi que sur la production d’objets personnels vendus par le studio, au nom de Society of Things.

En 2011, Brynjar Sigurðarson a reçu le Grand Prix lors de la Design Parade 6 à la Villa Noailles (Hyères) et a également été récompensé du Swiss Design Award et d’une mention honorable pour le Hublot Design Prize.

En 2015, un livre dédié à l’œuvre de Brynjar a été publié sous le titre Things that Happened :

« La manière de travailler chez Brinjar peut sans doute être comparée à l’attitude d’un chasseur en constante recherche de la rareté, faisant un avec le monde entier qu’il embrasse dans son exploration. Il se laisse porter par un certain espace, ses matériaux et ses coutumes et rassemble intuitivement ces éléments au sein d’objets et scènes ritualisés.

(Sophie Krier – Things that happened, Field Essays, 2015).

Expositions personnelles

Image
Exposition personnelle

28 novembre, 2013 - 08 février, 2014

Expositions de groupe

Image
Foires

06 avril - 10 avril, 2022

Image
Exposition de groupe

08 décembre, 2021 - 09 avril, 2022

Image
Foires

20 septembre - 26 septembre, 2021

Image
Foires

15 juillet - 17 juillet, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 septembre - 22 octobre, 2016

Image
Foires

13 juin - 19 juin, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

21 mai - 26 juillet, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

22 mars - 01 juin, 2013

Publications