Image

Guillaume Bardet

France — b. 1971

Available Works

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Biography

As a child, he used to draw, as he still does. On paper tablecloths, newspapers, napkins and in sketchbooks. He invents forms, as he once did in Rouen, where he was born in 1971, and where he lived until he was fifteen. On arriving in Paris, he kept on drawing, got bored in lessons, attended sculpture classes and dreamt of finishing secondary school so that he could finally do what he liked. His first year studying architecture was hardly convincing, but in 1993, when he began attending the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (ENSAD), Paris, he knew that he’d found the right place...

As a child, he used to draw, as he still does. On paper tablecloths, newspapers, napkins and in sketchbooks. He invents forms, as he once did in Rouen, where he was born in 1971, and where he lived until he was fifteen. On arriving in Paris, he kept on drawing, got bored in lessons, attended sculpture classes and dreamt of finishing secondary school so that he could finally do what he liked. His first year studying architecture was hardly convincing, but in 1993, when he began attending the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (ENSAD), Paris, he knew that he’d found the right place. No longer the poor student, he shot to the top of the class. And justifiably so: he took an interest in everything, enjoyed everything. That’s where he met Jean-Marie Massaud, with whom he teamed up immediately after graduating. Then he decided to set up on his own. The bursary he was awarded by the French Academy in Rome enabled him to produce his first major project: “Mobilier Immobile” (“Immobile Furniture”), nine atypical marble pieces. While continuing to design furniture, he started working in interior and urban design, gaining experience that he passed on to his students when employed as project manager at the École Nationale Supérieure de Création Industrielle (ENSCI), Paris, from 2005 onwards. In 2007, Guillaume Bardet left the capital with his wife and son and settled in the Drôme region, where he used to spend his holidays as a child. He knew that one day he would work with clay again, a medium he’d always liked. At last he had the time to start this race against the clock called L’Usage des jours. A veritable creative challenge. Two years have gone by; 365 pieces have seen the day. In October 2011, he receives, together with the ceramists, the prestigious  « Dialogue de l’intelligence de la main » prize from the Bettencourt Foundation. The « Usage des jours » project travels across Europe: exhibits at Sèvres –  City of Ceramics in Sèvres, France (January – April 2012), then at the  Grand-Hornu in Belgium (May – September 2012), at the Château des Adhémar  – Contemporary Art Centre in Montélimar, France (October – December 2012)  and finally at the Museum of Contemporary Design and Applied Arts (Mudac) in Lausanne, Switzerland (March – May 2013).

The publication of the book (« l’usage des jour », 456 pages) by Bernard  Chauveau Publishing is a written trace of this magnificent adventure. In 2013, he teaches at the National School of Decorative Arts (EnsAD) in Paris. During this time he collaborates with Hermès and designs a collection of objects for their Home Fragrance line.  In 2015, he is Educational Director – at the « Academy of Know-how » for the Hermès Foundation.  Since autumn 2015, he devotes himself to his new project « la fabrique du présent » (making the present). In Spring 2017, he exhibits a first chapter of this project, la Cène (« the Last Supper »), at the Couvent de la Tourette (le Corbusier) near Lyon. In April 2019, begins his collaboration with Galerie kreo. The exhibition shows a collection of bronze pieces including a very long oblong black table, uneven, huge but with a smooth table top in bronze tones, a large pendant light, a free shaped coffee table, a slender bench and a series of stools of different shapes.

Photo credits: © Pierre Olivier Deschamps

Solo Shows

Image
Solo Show

April 18 - July 26, 2019

Group Shows

Image
Fair

October 20 - October 24, 2021

Image
Fair

September 20 - September 26, 2021

Image
Fair

September 08 - September 12, 2021

Image
Fair

July 15 - July 17, 2021

Image
Off-site event

May 12 - October 31, 2021

Image
Group Show

March 23 - May 08, 2021

Image
Group Show

December 12, 2020 - March 22, 2021

Image
Off-site event

December 11, 2020 - April 01, 2021

Image
Group Show

September 25 - December 24, 2019

Image

Guillaume Bardet

France — n. 1971

Pièces disponibles

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Image

Guillaume Bardet

Biographie

Enfant, il dessine. Comme il le fait toujours. Sur les nappes en papier, les journaux, les serviettes de table, les carnets de croquis. Il invente des formes. Comme autrefois, à Rouen où il est né en 1971 et où il a vécu jusqu’à l’âge de 15 ans. Arrivé à Paris, il continue de dessiner, s’ennuie ferme à l’école, suit des cours de modelage, rêve d’en finir avec le lycée pour faire enfin ce qu’il aime. Sa première année en architecture ne le convainc pas. Mais quand il intègre l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (ENSAD) en 1993, il sait qu’il a trouvé sa place...

Enfant, il dessine. Comme il le fait toujours. Sur les nappes en papier, les journaux, les serviettes de table, les carnets de croquis. Il invente des formes. Comme autrefois, à Rouen où il est né en 1971 et où il a vécu jusqu’à l’âge de 15 ans. Arrivé à Paris, il continue de dessiner, s’ennuie ferme à l’école, suit des cours de modelage, rêve d’en finir avec le lycée pour faire enfin ce qu’il aime. Sa première année en architecture ne le convainc pas. Mais quand il intègre l’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (ENSAD) en 1993, il sait qu’il a trouvé sa place. Il quitte son statut de mauvais élève pour faire partie des premiers. Et pour cause: il s’intéresse à tout, prend plaisir à tout. C’est là qu’il rencontre Jean-Marie Massaud avec qui il travaille à peine sorti des Arts déco. Puis il décide de se mettre à son compte. La Bourse de l’Académie de France à Rome, qu’il obtient en 2002, lui permet d’élaborer son premier grand projet : le «Mobilier immobile», neuf pièces en marbre déjà hors norme. Tout en continuant à dessiner des meubles, il développe une activité d’architecte d’intérieur et de designer urbain. Autant d’expériences qu’il transmet en tant que directeur de projet à l’École Nationale Supérieure de Création Industrielle de Paris (ENSCI), à partir de 2005. En 2007, Guillaume Bardet quitte la capitale pour s’installer dans la Drôme, où il venait passer des vacances dans son enfance. Il sait depuis longtemps qu’un jour, il reviendra à la terre. C’est un matériau qu’il a tellement aimé. Et voilà qu’il a enfin le temps de se lancer dans cette course contre la montre que sera L’Usage des jours. Un véritable défi de création. Deux ans ont passé, 365 pièces ont vu le jour. En Octobre 2011, il reçoit, avec les céramistes, le prestigieux prix «Dialogue de l’Intelligence de la main» de la Fondation Bettencourt. Le projet «l’Usage des jours» voyagera à travers l’Europe: exposé à Sèvres, Cité de la céramique (de janvier à avril 2012 ), puis au Grand Hornu en Belgique (de mai à septembre 2012), au Château des Adhémar – Centre d’Art Contemporain de Montélimar (d’octobre à décembre 2012) et enfin au Mudac de Lausanne (de mars à mai 2013).

La publication du livre («l’usage des jours» 456 pages) aux éditions Bernard Chauveau est la trace de cette magnifique aventure. En 2013, il enseigne à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (ENSAD)de Paris. En parallèle, il collabore avec la maison Hermès et dessine une collection d’objets pour parfumer la maison. En 2015, il est directeur pédagogique de «l’Académie des savoirs-faire» pour la Fondation Hermès. Depuis l’automne 2015, il se consacre à son nouveau projet «la fabrique du présent». Au printemps 2017, il expose un premier chapitre, la Cène, au Couvent de la Tourette (le Corbusier) près de Lyon. En avril 2019, débute une collaboration avec la Galerie kreo. L’exposition présente une collection de pièces en bronze dont une très longue table noire oblongue, irrégulière, massive mais au plateau lisse, aux reflets mordorés, un grand lustre, une table basse de forme souple, un banc longiligne et une série de tabourets de formes toutes différentes.

Crédits photo : © Pierre Olivier Deschamps

Expositions personnelles

Image
Exposition personnelle

18 April - 26 July, 2019

Expositions de groupe

Image
Foires

20 September - 26 September, 2021

Image
Foires

08 September - 12 September, 2021

Image
Foires

15 July - 17 July, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

23 March - 08 May, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 December, 2020 - 22 March, 2021

Image
Hors les murs

11 December, 2020 - 01 April, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

25 September - 24 December, 2019