- Jaime Hayon -

Jaime Hayon

Spain — b. 1974

Available Works

Game On  Black - Jaime Hayon - Table light - Galerie kreo

Jaime Hayon

Biography

Spanish designer Jaime Hayon was born in Madrid in 1974. After studying industrial design in Madrid and Paris he joined Fabrica – the Benetton-funded design and communication academy in Italy – in 1997 where he directed the design department until 2003. Hayon set up his own studio practice in the year 2000 and dedicated fully himself  to his personal projects from 2003 onward, today he is one of the most acclaimed creators worldwide. His singular vision has been exposed in venues like the: Vivid Gallery, Mak Vienna, Groninger Museum, Aram Gallery, London’s Design Museum, Mudac Museum, Gallery Thomas in Munich, Walker Art Center, Centre Pompidou and more recently at the Galerie kreo in Paris for a solo show, « Game on » in 2015...

Spanish designer Jaime Hayon was born in Madrid in 1974. After studying industrial design in Madrid and Paris he joined Fabrica – the Benetton-funded design and communication academy in Italy – in 1997 where he directed the design department until 2003. Hayon set up his own studio practice in the year 2000 and dedicated fully himself  to his personal projects from 2003 onward, today he is one of the most acclaimed creators worldwide. His singular vision has been exposed in venues like the: Vivid Gallery, Mak Vienna, Groninger Museum, Aram Gallery, London’s Design Museum, Mudac Museum, Gallery Thomas in Munich, Walker Art Center, Centre Pompidou and more recently at the Galerie kreo in Paris for a solo show, « Game on » in 2015. Today his works are an integral part of permanent collections of some of these institutions.

Hayon’s esteem and knowledge of artisan skills and his inherent creativity has allowed him to push the boundaries of many mediums and functions, resulting in collections for very diverse clients. His concern for the conservation of craft skills has joined his path with high-end traditional companies concerned with the evolution of their work. Examples of this are his collaborations with Baccarat, Choemon in Japan, Bosa Ceramiche and Lladro.

He has created furniture ranges for iconic danish company Fritz Hansen, Magis, Established and Sons, Bisazza, B.D. Barcelona, Se London, Bernhardt Design, Ceccotti and Moooi. Hayon has designed various lighting fixtures collections for Metalarte and also in collaboration with Swarovski and Baccarat. He has created accessories for Piper Heidsieck, Gaia and Gino, The Rug Company. These collections have put Hayon at the forefront a new wave of creators that blurred the lines between art, decoration and design and a renaissance in finely-crafted, intricate objects within the context of contemporary design culture. Adding to his acclaimed intramurals for Madrid’s La Terraza del Casino restaurant and Camper footwear stores, Hayon is currently working on interiors for leading hotels, restaurants and retail establishments around the world that have become platforms to create special objects and functional and non functional elements.

Most recently, he has completed Octium, a jewelry shop in Kuwait, the Faberge Salon in Geneva, Switzerland and the Info Center for the Groninger Museum in the Netherlands. Hayon’s latest Restaurant, Le sergent recruteur in Paris, is a good example of elegance and artistic approach to the interior world.

His work has appeared in the most prestigious art and design publications worldwide. He has won numerous awards including ‘Best Installation’ by Icon Magazine, ‘Breakthrough Creator’ by Wallpaper Magazine, Elle Deco International Award (2006 and 2012), ‘Best International Designer’ by Elle Deco Germany (2008), ‘Best Designer’ for Elle Deco Japan (2008), ‘Designer of the Year’ by AD Russia (2009) and by Maison Objet (2010), among many others. In 2008, Jaime Hayon was guest of honor at Belgium’s Interieur Biennial, the youngest person ever to receive this accolade.

Times Magazine included Hayon as one of the 100 most relevant creators of these times and Wallpaper Magazine has listed him as one of the most influential creators too. With offices in Italy, Spain and Japan, Jaime Hayon’s main interest is to find challenges and new perspectives continuously.

Photo credits: © James Mollison

Solo Shows

Jaime Hayon - ChromaticO
Solo Show

December 01, 2018 - February 09, 2019

Jaime Hayon - ChromaticO
Solo Show

November 29 - February 02, 2018

Jaime Hayon - game on
Solo Show

June 03 - September 05, 2015

Jaime Hayon - game on
Solo Show

May 21 - September 19, 2015

Group Shows

Jaime Hayon - PAD London 2022
Fair

October 10 - October 16, 2022

Jaime Hayon - step by step
Group Show

September 16 - November 05, 2022

Jaime Hayon - Design Miami/ Basel 2022
Fair

June 13 - June 19, 2022

Jaime Hayon - TEFAF New York 2022
Fair

May 05 - May 10, 2022

Jaime Hayon - chez soi
Group Show

April 07 - July 16, 2022

Jaime Hayon - PAD Paris 2022
Fair

April 06 - April 10, 2022

Jaime Hayon - 'inside'
Group Show

December 08, 2021 - April 09, 2022

Jaime Hayon - fiac! 2021
Fair

October 20 - October 24, 2021

Jaime Hayon - Design Miami / Basel 2021
Fair

September 20 - September 26, 2021

Jaime Hayon - artmonte-carlo 2021
Fair

July 15 - July 17, 2021

Jaime Hayon - kamel mennour x Galerie kreo @in Provence
Off-site event

May 15 - September 01, 2021

Jaime Hayon - @home new chapter
Group Show

March 23 - May 08, 2021

Jaime Hayon - @home
Group Show

December 12, 2020 - March 22, 2021

Jaime Hayon - Lucas Ratton x kamel mennour x Galerie kreo @Paris
Off-site event

December 11, 2020 - April 01, 2021

Jaime Hayon - 20 years
Group Show

September 25 - December 24, 2019

Jaime Hayon - TEFAF Maastricht 2019
Fair

March 16 - March 24, 2019

Jaime Hayon - TEFAF New York 2018
Fair

May 04 - May 06, 2018

Jaime Hayon - TEFAF Maastricht 2018
Fair

March 08 - March 18, 2018

Jaime Hayon - THE SALON 2017
Group Show

November 09 - November 13, 2017

Jaime Hayon - Didier Lavier
Group Show

September 13 - November 04, 2017

Jaime Hayon - TEFAF New York 2017
Fair

May 04 - May 08, 2017

Jaime Hayon - PAD Paris 2017
Fair

March 22 - March 26, 2017

Jaime Hayon - TEFAF Maastricht 2017
Fair

March 09 - March 19, 2017

Jaime Hayon - silvershadow
Group Show

February 01 - March 18, 2017

Jaime Hayon - monobloc
Group Show

January 19 - March 25, 2017

Jaime Hayon - One piece a day
Group Show

September 12 - October 22, 2016

Jaime Hayon - Design Miami / Basel 2016
Fair

June 13 - June 19, 2016

Jaime Hayon - summer solstice
Group Show

May 26 - August 05, 2016

Jaime Hayon - super-natural geometry
Group Show

April 04 - May 18, 2016

Jaime Hayon - PAD Paris 2016
Fair

March 31 - April 03, 2016

Jaime Hayon - FOG Art+Design San Francisco
Fair

January 13 - January 17, 2016

Jaime Hayon - Réunions de familles
Group Show

November 20, 2015 - January 30, 2016

Jaime Hayon - Eclectic matches
Group Show

November 06, 2015 - January 23, 2016

Jaime Hayon - des formes utiles
Group Show

September 17 - October 30, 2014

Jaime Hayon - Autour du cou
Group Show

November 29, 2012 - January 19, 2013

Publications

Image

Le laboratoire du design contemporain

Image

Jaime Hayon ‘Funtastico’

Image

Jaime Hayon ‘Works’

Image

Jaime Hayon

kreo in motion

‘kreo in motion’ is a series of short films re-imagining pieces of the gallery through the eye of talented motion designers and animators! Every month a series of 3 animations will be posted at regular intervals. Each series will be dedicated to the creative practice of a different motion designer - blank canvas to …

Hymy side table by Jake Tyas

Initially inspired by Jaime Hayon’s 'Hymy' side table, illustrator and motion designer Jake Tyas plays with the anthropomorphic quality of the piece by transforming it into a character, surrounded by a gang of similar-looking creatures. In the short, the characters fill the screen, fighting for space as they expand until ultimately popping like balloons, one by one. Only the central character remains and slowly deflates, to finally transform into Jaime's Hymy side table.

Game On Side Table by Kirill Pyrev

Playfulness is at the centre of Kirill’s second animation, as the motion designer composes a delightful image of Jaime Hayon’s equally playful ‘Game On’ side table, with a lively and rhythmic tune. In this animation, Kirill deconstructs an imaginary slab of marble to reveal Jaime Hayon’s patterned side table, composed of Carrara white marble. The repetition of the circular geometric pattern all along the table creates a striking contrast with the natural veins of the marble.

Image

Jaime Hayon

Espagne — n. 1974

Pièces disponibles

Image

Jaime Hayon

Image

Jaime Hayon

Biographie

Le designer espagnol Jaime Hayon est né à Madrid en 1974. Après avoir étudié le design industriel à Madrid et à Paris, il rejoint la Fabrica – l’académie de design et de communication fondée par Benetton en Italie – en 1997 où il dirige le département de design jusqu’en 2003. Hayon se concentre sur les activités de son propre studio au cours de l’année 2000 et ses projets personnels dès 2003. Il est aujourd’hui l’un des créateurs les plus acclamés mondialement. Ses réalisations, visions singulières, ont été exposées dans des lieux tels la Vivid Gallery, Mak Vienna, le Groninger Museum, l’Aram Gallery, le London’s Design Museum, le Mudac Museum, la Gallery Thomas in Munich, le Walker Art Center, le Centre Pompidou, et dernièrement à la Galerie kreo à Paris lors d’une exposition personnelle, « Game on » (2015)...

Le designer espagnol Jaime Hayon est né à Madrid en 1974. Après avoir étudié le design industriel à Madrid et à Paris, il rejoint la Fabrica – l’académie de design et de communication fondée par Benetton en Italie – en 1997 où il dirige le département de design jusqu’en 2003. Hayon se concentre sur les activités de son propre studio au cours de l’année 2000 et ses projets personnels dès 2003. Il est aujourd’hui l’un des créateurs les plus acclamés mondialement. Ses réalisations, visions singulières, ont été exposées dans des lieux tels la Vivid Gallery, Mak Vienna, le Groninger Museum, l’Aram Gallery, le London’s Design Museum, le Mudac Museum, la Gallery Thomas in Munich, le Walker Art Center, le Centre Pompidou, et dernièrement à la Galerie kreo à Paris lors d’une exposition personnelle, « Game on » (2015). Les oeuvres de Hayon font d’ailleurs partie intégrante des collections permanentes de nombreuses institutions citées.

L’estime que Hayon porte pour les savoir-faire artisanaux, qu’il maîtrise, liée à sa créativité innée lui permet de repousser les frontières de nombreux media et fonctions à travers ses créations conçues sous forme de collections pour les clients les plus variés. Son intérêt pour la conservation des savoir-faire artisanaux l’a fait rejoindre la trajectoire d’entreprises prestigieuses marquées par la tradition qui mènent une réflexion sur l’évolution de leur production. En témoignent ses collaborations avec Baccarat, Choemon au Japon, Bosa Ceramiche et Lladro.

Hayon a créé un large panel de mobiliers pour la maison d’édition danoise iconique Fritz Hansen, Magis, Established and Sons, Bisazza, B.D. Barcelona, Se London, Bernhardt Design, Ceccotti et Moooi. Il a conçu des collections variées de lampes d’applique pour Metalarte et également en collaboration avec Swarovski et Baccarat. Il a créé des accessoires pour Pier Heidsieck, Gaia and Gino, The Rug Company. Ces différentes collections ont conduit Jaime Hayon au devant de la nouvelle scène du design qui efface les frontières entre art, décoration et design et tend vers une renaissance des objets manufacturés de grande qualité, profondément intégrés dans le contexte de la culture du design contemporain. En plus de ses aménagements intérieurs du restaurant madrilène La Terraza del Casino et de la boutique de chaussure Camper, acclamés par la presse, Jaime Hayon travaille actuellement à la décoration intérieure d’hôtels, restaurants et magasins renommés dans le monde entier, qui sont devenus de véritables plateformes pour créer des objets spécifiques et autres éléments fonctionnels ou non.

Plus récemment encore, il a réalisé au Koweït la bijouterie Octium, le Salon Faberge à Genève, l’Info Center du Groninger Museum aux Pays-Bas ou le restaurant Le sergent recruteur à Paris qui témoigne de l’élégance et de l’approche artistique du designer d’intérieur.

Ses travaux sont d’ailleurs publiés par la presse internationale d’art et design la plus prestigieuse. Hayon a en outre reçu de nombreuses récompenses, dont la « Best Installation» par l’Icon Magazine, le « Breakthrough Creator» par le Wallpaper Magazine, le Elle Deco International Award (2006 et 2012), le « Best International Designer » de la part de Elle Deco Germany (2008), « Best Designer » de la part de Elle Deco Japan (2008), « Designer of the Year » par AD Russia (2009), « Designer of the Year » par Maison Objet (2010), entre autres. En 2008, il a été honoré du titre d’invité d’honneur de la Biennale Interieur de Belgique, alors le plus jeune de tous les nominés.

Time Magazine a cité Hayon parmi les 100 créateurs essentiels de notre époque et le Wallpaper Magazine parmi les créateurs les plus influents. Ayant étendu son activité en Italie, en Espagne et au Japon, l’intérêt de Jamie Hayon se tourne continuellement vers de nouveaux défis, de nouvelles perspectives.

Crédits photo : © James Mollison

Expositions personnelles

Image
Exposition personnelle

01 décembre, 2018 - 09 février, 2019

Image
Exposition personnelle

29 novembre - 02 février, 2018

Image
Exposition personnelle

03 juin - 05 septembre, 2015

Image
Exposition personnelle

21 mai - 19 septembre, 2015

Expositions de groupe

Image
Foires

20 octobre - 24 octobre, 2021

Image
Foires

20 septembre - 26 septembre, 2021

Image
Foires

15 juillet - 17 juillet, 2021

Image
Hors les murs

15 mai - 01 septembre, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

23 mars - 08 mai, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 décembre, 2020 - 22 mars, 2021

Image
Hors les murs

11 décembre, 2020 - 01 avril, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

25 septembre - 24 décembre, 2019

Image
Foires

16 mars - 24 mars, 2019

Image
Foires

04 mai - 06 mai, 2018

Image
Foires

08 mars - 18 mars, 2018

Image
Exposition de groupe

09 novembre - 13 novembre, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

13 septembre - 04 novembre, 2017

Image
Foires

04 mai - 08 mai, 2017

Image
Foires

22 mars - 26 mars, 2017

Image
Foires

09 mars - 19 mars, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

01 février - 18 mars, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

19 janvier - 25 mars, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 septembre - 22 octobre, 2016

Image
Foires

13 juin - 19 juin, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

26 mai - 05 août, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

04 avril - 18 mai, 2016

Image
Foires

31 mars - 03 avril, 2016

Image
Foires

13 janvier - 17 janvier, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

20 novembre, 2015 - 30 janvier, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

06 novembre, 2015 - 23 janvier, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

17 septembre - 30 octobre, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

29 novembre, 2012 - 19 janvier, 2013

Publications

Image

Le laboratoire du design contemporain