Image

Konstantin Grcic

Germany — b. 1965

Available Works

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Biography

Konstantin Grcic (1965) was trained as a cabinet maker at The John Makepeace School (Dorset, England) before studying Design at the Royal College of Art in London. Since setting up his own practice Konstantin Grcic Industrial Design (KGID) in Munich in 1991, he has developed furniture, products and lighting for some of the leading companies in the design field. Amongst his renowned clients are Authentics, BD Ediciones, ClassiCon, Flos, Magis, Mattiazzi, Muji, Nespresso, Plank, Serafino Zani, Thomas-Rosenthal and Vitra. For Galerie kreo in Paris, he has created a number of limited edition pieces since 2004; in turn Galerie kreo already devoted him several solo hows, such as « Champions » (2011), « Man Machine » (2014) and « Hieronymus » (2016)...

Konstantin Grcic (1965) was trained as a cabinet maker at The John Makepeace School (Dorset, England) before studying Design at the Royal College of Art in London. Since setting up his own practice Konstantin Grcic Industrial Design (KGID) in Munich in 1991, he has developed furniture, products and lighting for some of the leading companies in the design field. Amongst his renowned clients are Authentics, BD Ediciones, ClassiCon, Flos, Magis, Mattiazzi, Muji, Nespresso, Plank, Serafino Zani, Thomas-Rosenthal and Vitra. For Galerie kreo in Paris, he has created a number of limited edition pieces since 2004; in turn Galerie kreo already devoted him several solo hows, such as « Champions » (2011), « Man Machine » (2014) and « Hieronymus » (2016). Many of his products have received international design awards such as the prestigious Compasso d’Oro for his « Mayday lamp » (Flos) in 2001 and the « Myto chair » (Plank) in 2011. In January 2015, Wallpaper Magazine announces him to be one of the winners of this year’s Designer of the year award. Work by Konstantin Grcic forms part of the permanent collections of the world’s most important design museums (a.o. MoMA in New York, Centre Pompidou in Paris). Most recently Konstantin Grcic has curated a number of significant design exhibitions such as « Design-Real » for The Serpentine Gallery, London (2009), « Comfort » for the Biennale internationale du design de Saint-Étienne  (2010) and « Black2 » for the Istituto Svizzero, Rome (2010). In 2012 he was responsible for the exhibition design of the German Pavillon at the 13th Architecture Biennale in Venice. Solo exhibitions of his work have been shown at the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen (Rotterdam, 2006), Haus der Kunst (Munich, 2006) and The Art Institute of Chicago (2009). With « Konstantin Grcic-Panorama« , the Vitra Design Museum (Weil am Rhein, Germany) presented in 2014 the largest solo exhibition on Grcic and his work to date. The Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA) appointed Konstantin Grcic « Royal Designer for Industry » in 2009, In 2010 he was fellow at Villa Massimo in Rome. Design Miami/ awarded him the title « 2010 Designer of the Year » for 2010.

Konstantin Grcic defines function in human terms, combining formal strictness with considerable mental acuity and humor. Each of his products is characterized by a careful research into the history of design and architecture and his passion for technology and materials. Known for pared-down pieces, Grcic is often called a minimalist but the designer himself prefers to speak of simplicity.

Photo credits: © Markus Jans

Solo Shows

Image
Solo Show

June 08 - September 22, 2018

Image
Solo Show

May 17 - September 10, 2018

Image
Solo Show

March 23 - July 16, 2016

Image
Solo Show

February 13 - May 17, 2014

Image
Solo Show

June 11 - July 23, 2011

Group Shows

Image
Fair

July 15 - July 17, 2021

Image
Off-site event

May 12 - October 31, 2021

Image
Group Show

September 25 - December 24, 2019

Image
Fair

June 12 - June 17, 2018

Image
Fair

May 04 - May 06, 2018

Image
Group Show

September 13 - November 04, 2017

Image
Fair

May 04 - May 08, 2017

Image
Group Show

April 07 - July 30, 2017

Image
Group Show

February 01 - March 18, 2017

Image
Group Show

January 19 - March 25, 2017

Image
Fair

October 04 - October 09, 2016

Image
Group Show

September 12 - October 22, 2016

Image
Fair

June 13 - June 19, 2016

Image
Fair

January 13 - January 17, 2016

Image
Group Show

March 25 - May 23, 2015

Image
Group Show

November 05 - December 20, 2014

Image
Group Show

September 17 - October 30, 2014

Image
Group Show

September 06 - October 31, 2014

Image
Group Show

May 21 - July 26, 2014

Image
Group Show

October 12 - November 24, 2012

Image
Group Show

January 12 - March 03, 2012

Image
Group Show

September 12 - October 31, 2009

Image
Group Show

September 08 - October 13, 2007

Image
Group Show

November 15 - December 20, 2003

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Allemagne — n. 1965

Pièces disponibles

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Biographie

Konstantin Grcic (1965) suit une formation d’ébéniste à la John Makepeace School (Dorset, Angleterre) avant d’étudier le Design au Royal College of Art à Londres. Depuis, il a mis en place sa propre structure Konstantin Grcic Industrial Design (KGID) à Munich en 1991, et conçoit du mobilier, des objets et des luminaires pour un certain nombre d’entreprises leader dans le domaine du design. Parmi ses clients de renom figurent : Authentics, BD Ediciones, ClassiCon, Flos, Magis, Mattiazzi, Muji, Nespresso, Plank, Serafino Zani, Thomas Rosenthal et Vitra. Pour la Galerie kreo à Paris, il crée des pièces en édition limitée depuis 2004 ; laquelle lui a déjà dédié plusieurs expositions : « Champions » (2011), « Man Machine » (2014)  et « Hieronymus » (2016)...

Konstantin Grcic (1965) suit une formation d’ébéniste à la John Makepeace School (Dorset, Angleterre) avant d’étudier le Design au Royal College of Art à Londres. Depuis, il a mis en place sa propre structure Konstantin Grcic Industrial Design (KGID) à Munich en 1991, et conçoit du mobilier, des objets et des luminaires pour un certain nombre d’entreprises leader dans le domaine du design. Parmi ses clients de renom figurent : Authentics, BD Ediciones, ClassiCon, Flos, Magis, Mattiazzi, Muji, Nespresso, Plank, Serafino Zani, Thomas Rosenthal et Vitra. Pour la Galerie kreo à Paris, il crée des pièces en édition limitée depuis 2004 ; laquelle lui a déjà dédié plusieurs expositions : « Champions » (2011), « Man Machine » (2014)  et « Hieronymus » (2016). Beaucoup de ses produits ont reçu des prix internationaux comme le prestigieux Compasso d’Oro pour sa lampe Mayfay (Flos) en 2001 et la chaise Myto (Plank) en 2011. En Janvier 2015, Wallpaper Magazine déclare qu’il est l’un des gagnants du prix du Designer de l’année. L’œuvre de Konstantin Grcic fait partie des collections permanentes des musées de design les plus importants au monde (le MoMA à New York, le Centre Pompidou à Paris). Plus récemment, Konstantin Grcic a été nommé curateur d’un nombre signifiant d’expositions de design comme « Design-Real » pour The Serpentine Gallery, à Londres (2009), « Comfort » pour la Biennale internationale du design de Saint-Étienne en 2010. En 2012, il est responsable de l’exposition design du pavillon allemand à la 13e Biennale d’Architecture à Venise. Des expositions personnelles de son travail ont été présentées au Musée Boijmans Van Beuningen (Rotterdam, 2006), Haus der Kunst (Munich, 2006) et The Art Institute of Chicago (2009). Avec « Konstantin Grcic-Panorama », le Vitra Design Museum (Weil am Rhein, en Allemagne) présente en 2014 la plus grande exposition personnelle sur Grcic et son œuvre à ce jour. La Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA) désigne Konstantin Grcic « Royal Designer for Industry » en 2009. En 2010, il est membre de la Villa Massimo à Rome. Design Miami lui décerne le prix du Designer de l’année 2010.

Konstantin Grcic définit les fonctions dans des termes humains, en combinant une rigueur formelle avec une grande acuité mentale et de l’humour. Chacune de ses pièces est caractérisée par une recherche attentive de l’histoire du design et de l’architecture et sa passion pour la technologie et les matériaux. Connu pour ses pièces épurées, Grcic est souvent considéré comme minimaliste mais lui préfère parler de simplicité.

Crédits photo : © Markus Jans

Expositions personnelles

Image
Exposition personnelle

08 juin - 22 septembre, 2018

Image
Exposition personnelle

17 mai - 10 septembre, 2018

Image
Exposition personnelle

23 mars - 16 juillet, 2016

Image
Exposition personnelle

13 février - 17 mai, 2014

Image
Exposition personnelle

11 juin - 23 juillet, 2011

Expositions de groupe

Image
Foires

20 octobre - 24 octobre, 2021

Image
Foires

20 septembre - 26 septembre, 2021

Image
Foires

15 juillet - 17 juillet, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

25 septembre - 24 décembre, 2019

Image
Foires

12 juin - 17 juin, 2018

Image
Foires

04 mai - 06 mai, 2018

Image
Exposition de groupe

13 septembre - 04 novembre, 2017

Image
Foires

04 mai - 08 mai, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

07 avril - 30 juillet, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

01 février - 18 mars, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

19 janvier - 25 mars, 2017

Image
Foires

04 octobre - 09 octobre, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 septembre - 22 octobre, 2016

Image
Foires

13 juin - 19 juin, 2016

Image
Foires

13 janvier - 17 janvier, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

25 mars - 23 mai, 2015

Image
Exposition de groupe

05 novembre - 20 décembre, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

17 septembre - 30 octobre, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

06 septembre - 31 octobre, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

21 mai - 26 juillet, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 octobre - 24 novembre, 2012

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 janvier - 03 mars, 2012

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 septembre - 31 octobre, 2009

Image
Exposition de groupe

08 septembre - 13 octobre, 2007

Image
Exposition de groupe

15 novembre - 20 décembre, 2003