Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

b. 1971 et 1976

Available Works

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Biography

Ronan (born 1971) and Erwan Bouroullec (born 1976) are brothers and designers based in Paris. They have been working together for about fifteen years bonded by diligence and challenged by their distinct personalities. Their studio is based in Paris and their team numbers around six people.

In 1997, they were spotted by Cappellini, giving them their first industrial design projects. They began working with the Galerie kreo in 2000 and had their first solo show there in 2001. Issey Miyake then hired them to design the boutique to house his new collection « A-Poc »...

Ronan (born 1971) and Erwan Bouroullec (born 1976) are brothers and designers based in Paris. They have been working together for about fifteen years bonded by diligence and challenged by their distinct personalities. Their studio is based in Paris and their team numbers around six people.

In 1997, they were spotted by Cappellini, giving them their first industrial design projects. They began working with the Galerie kreo in 2000 and had their first solo show there in 2001. Issey Miyake then hired them to design the boutique to house his new collection « A-Poc ». They met then Rolf Felhbaum, President of Vitra, and worked on a new office system entitled « Joyn ». Since then, they have gone on to work with Artek, Alessi, Axor Hansgrohe, Cappellini, Established & Sons, Flos, Hay, Kettal, Kvadrat, Kartell, Glas Italia, Ligne Roset, Magis, Iittala, Mattiazzi, Mutina, Nani Marquina, Samsung and Vitra.

Their work has covered many field ranging from the design of small objects as jewellery to spatial arrangements and architecture, from craftsmanship to industrial scale, from drawings to videos and photography. The designers also maintain an experimental activity with Gallery kreo, which is also essential to the development of their work.

Designs of the Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec are part of select international museums’ permanent collections such as the Musée National d’Art Moderne – Centre Pompidou and the musée des Arts décoratifs in Paris, the MoMA in New York, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Design Museum in London, and the Museum Boijmans van Beuningen in Rotterdam.

Several monographic exhibitions have been devoted to their work: «Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec» at the Design Museum, London (2002) and «Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec» at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (2004), «Album» at the Vitra Design Museum (2012) and «Bivouac» at the Centre Pompidou Metz (2011) and then at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago (2012-2013). In 2013, the musée des Arts décoratifs, Paris presented «Momentané» and more recently (2015) they unveiled «17 Screens» exhibition at Tel Aviv Museum of Art.

A comprehensive monograph was released in 2012, Works, Phaidon Press. In 2013, under the art direction of Cornel Windlin, the editor JRP Ringier published a 864-page paperback entitled Drawing book, that collects more than 850 drawings that Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec made between 2005 and 2012. In the past, two monographs have been published : Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec published by Phaidon Press (2003) and Ronan et Erwan Bouroullec – Catalogue de Raison (Paris: Images Modernes / kreo, 2002).

Photo credits: © Ola Rindal

Exhibitions

Image
Group Show

March 23 - May 08, 2021

Image
Group Show

December 12, 2020 - March 22, 2021

Image
Group Show

December 11, 2020 - April 01, 2021

Image
Group Show

September 25 - December 24, 2019

Image
Fair

March 16 - March 24, 2019

Image
Solo Show

March 01 - May 13, 2019

Image
Solo Show

February 28 - April 09, 2019

Image
Group Show

September 27 - November 17, 2018

Image
Fair

June 12 - June 17, 2018

Image
Fair

May 04 - May 06, 2018

Image
Fair

March 08 - March 18, 2018

Image
Fair

December 05 - December 10, 2017

Image
Solo Show

November 17, 2017 - February 02, 2018

Image
Group Show

September 13 - November 04, 2017

Image
Fair

May 04 - May 08, 2017

Image
Group Show

April 07 - July 30, 2017

Image
Fair

March 22 - March 26, 2017

Image
Fair

March 09 - March 19, 2017

Image
Group Show

February 01 - March 18, 2017

Image
Group Show

January 19 - March 25, 2017

Image
Solo Show

November 17, 2016 - January 14, 2017

Image
Solo Show

November 04, 2016 - January 18, 2017

Image
Fair

October 04 - October 09, 2016

Image
Solo Show

September 29 - November 05, 2016

Image
Group Show

September 12 - October 22, 2016

Image
Fair

June 13 - June 19, 2016

Image
Fair

January 13 - January 17, 2016

Image
Group Show

November 20, 2015 - January 30, 2016

Image
Group Show

March 25 - May 23, 2015

Image
Group Show

November 05 - December 20, 2014

Image
Group Show

September 17 - October 30, 2014

Image
Group Show

September 06 - October 31, 2014

Image
Group Show

May 23 - July 26, 2014

Image
Group Show

May 21 - July 26, 2014

Image
Group Show

March 22 - June 01, 2013

Image
Group Show

November 29, 2012 - January 19, 2013

Image
Group Show

January 12 - March 03, 2012

Image
Group Show

February 10 - May 15, 2011

Image
Solo Show

April 24 - July 22, 2010

Image
Group Show

September 12 - October 31, 2009

Image
Group Show

June 13 - July 25, 2009

Image
Group Show

September 13 - November 22, 2008

Image
Solo Show

January 26 - March 08, 2008

Image
Group Show

September 08 - October 13, 2007

Image
Group Show

June 02 - July 13, 2007

Image
Group Show

April 21 - May 26, 2007

Image
Group Show

May 28 - July 23, 2005

Image
Solo Show

January 08 - February 26, 2005

Image
Solo Show

April 24 - May 29, 2004

Image
Group Show

November 15 - December 20, 2003

Image
Group Show

September 13 - October 31, 2003

Image
Group Show

March 01 - April 19, 2003

Image
Solo Show

November 09 - December 21, 2002

Image
Solo Show

May 31 - July 28, 2001

Films

Lecteur vidéo

Les frères Bouroullec en image

Image Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

n. 1971 et 1976

Pièces disponibles

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec

Biographie

Ronan (né en 1971) et Erwan Bouroullec (né en 1976) sont deux frères designers qui travaillent ensemble depuis quinze ans. Leur travail bénéficie à la fois de leur assiduité commune et de l’apport de leurs personnalités respectives. Leur atelier est implanté à Paris, comptant une équipe de six personnes.

En 1997, ils sont repérés par Cappellini, qui leur offre alors l’opportunité de réaliser leurs premiers projets de design industriel. Leur collaboration avec la Galerie kreo débute en 2000 ; laquelle leur dédie un an plus tard seulement une première exposition personnelle...

Ronan (né en 1971) et Erwan Bouroullec (né en 1976) sont deux frères designers qui travaillent ensemble depuis quinze ans. Leur travail bénéficie à la fois de leur assiduité commune et de l’apport de leurs personnalités respectives. Leur atelier est implanté à Paris, comptant une équipe de six personnes.

En 1997, ils sont repérés par Cappellini, qui leur offre alors l’opportunité de réaliser leurs premiers projets de design industriel. Leur collaboration avec la Galerie kreo débute en 2000 ; laquelle leur dédie un an plus tard seulement une première exposition personnelle. En parallèle, Issey Miyake commande aux frères Bouroullec la conception de sa boutique parisienne, qui accueille sa dernière collection « A-Poc ». Par la suite, ils rencontrent Rolf Felhbaum, le président de Vitra, et imaginent pour la grande maison d’édition un nouveau système de bureau dénommé « Joyn » (2002). Riches de cette expérience avec Vitra, ils démultiplieront leurs collaborations : avec Artek, Alessi, Axor Hansgrohe, Cappellini, Established & Sons, Flos, Hay, Kettal, Kvadrat, Kartell, Glas Italia, Ligne Roset, Magis, Iitala, Mattiazzi, Mutina, Nani marquina, Samsung.

Leur travail embrasse un large champ de création, de la conception de mobilier à la joaillerie, aux projets architecturaux, de la tapisserie à l’échelle industrielle, des dessins aux vidéos et à la photographie. D’ailleurs, les deux designers maintiennent depuis 2002, avec la Galerie kreo, une activité expérimentale qui est essentielle dans le développement de leur travail.

Les pièces de Ronan et Erwan Bouroullec sont désormais présentes dans les collections permanentes de nombreux musées internationaux tel le Centre Pompidou et le musée des Arts décoratifs à Paris, le MoMA à New York, l’Institut of Art de Chicago, le Design Museum à Londres, et le Musée Boijmans van Beuningen à Rotterdam.

Plusieurs expositions monographiques leur ont été également consacrées : « Ronan et Erwan Bouroullec » au Design Museum à Londres (2002), « Ronan et Erwan Bouroullec » au Museum of Contemporary Art de Los Angeles (2004), « Album » au Vitra Design Museum (2012), et « Bivouac » au Centre Pompidou Metz (2011) puis au Museum of Contemporary Art à Chicago (2012-2013). En 2013, le musée des Arts décoratifs leur consacre une grande exposition « Momentané », et plus récemment, ils ont dévoilé l’exposition « 17 Screens » au Tel Aviv Museum of Art (2015).

Une monographie complète a été publiée en 2012 par Work Phaidon Press. En 2013, sous la direction artistique de Cornel Windlin, l’éditeur JRP Ringier publie un ouvrage de 864 pages intitulé Drawing et qui comporte plus de 850 reproductions de leurs dessins réalisés entre 2005 et 2012. Signalons également deux publications monographiques antérieures qui leur ont été consacrées : Ronan et Erwan Bouroullec publié par Phaidon Press (2003) et Ronan et Erwan Bouroullec – Catalogue de Raison publié par les Editions Images Modernes / kreo (2002).

Expositions

Image
Exposition de groupe

15 May - 01 September, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 May - 31 October, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

23 March - 08 May, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 December, 2020 - 22 March, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

11 December, 2020 - 01 April, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

25 September - 24 December, 2019

Image
Foires

16 March - 24 March, 2019

Image
Exposition solo

01 March - 13 May, 2019

Image
Exposition solo

28 February - 09 April, 2019

Image
Exposition de groupe

27 September - 17 November, 2018

Image
Foires

12 June - 17 June, 2018

Image
Foires

04 May - 06 May, 2018

Image
Foires

08 March - 18 March, 2018

Image
Foires

05 December - 10 December, 2017

Image
Exposition solo

17 November, 2017 - 02 February, 2018

Image
Exposition de groupe

13 September - 04 November, 2017

Image
Foires

04 May - 08 May, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

07 April - 30 July, 2017

Image
Foires

22 March - 26 March, 2017

Image
Foires

09 March - 19 March, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

01 February - 18 March, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

19 January - 25 March, 2017

Image
Exposition solo

17 November, 2016 - 14 January, 2017

Image
Exposition solo

04 November, 2016 - 18 January, 2017

Image
Foires

04 October - 09 October, 2016

Image
Exposition solo

29 September - 05 November, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 September - 22 October, 2016

Image
Foires

13 June - 19 June, 2016

Image
Foires

13 January - 17 January, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

20 November, 2015 - 30 January, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

25 March - 23 May, 2015

Image
Exposition de groupe

05 November - 20 December, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

17 September - 30 October, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

06 September - 31 October, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

23 May - 26 July, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

21 May - 26 July, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

22 March - 01 June, 2013

Image
Exposition de groupe

29 November, 2012 - 19 January, 2013

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 January - 03 March, 2012

Image
Exposition de groupe

10 February - 15 May, 2011

Image
Exposition solo

24 April - 22 July, 2010

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 September - 31 October, 2009

Image
Exposition de groupe

13 June - 25 July, 2009

Image
Exposition de groupe

13 September - 22 November, 2008

Image
Exposition solo

26 January - 08 March, 2008

Image
Exposition de groupe

08 September - 13 October, 2007

Image
Exposition de groupe

02 June - 13 July, 2007

Image
Exposition de groupe

21 April - 26 May, 2007

Image
Exposition de groupe

28 May - 23 July, 2005

Image
Exposition solo

08 January - 26 February, 2005

Image
Exposition solo

24 April - 29 May, 2004

Image
Exposition de groupe

15 November - 20 December, 2003

Image
Exposition de groupe

13 September - 31 October, 2003

Image
Exposition de groupe

01 March - 19 April, 2003

Image
Exposition solo

09 November - 21 December, 2002

Image
Exposition solo

31 May - 28 July, 2001

Films

Lecteur vidéo

Les frères Bouroullec en image