Image
 

113
Volumes
Konstantin Grcic

June 08 - September 22, 2018

Galerie kreo
31, Rue Dauphine
75006 Paris
+ 33 (0) 1 53 10 23 00
Image

There is a small but significant detail on Achille and Pier Giacomo Castiglioni’s Arco lamp which Konstantin Grcic admires. A hole runs through the solid rectangular marble base, wide enough for a broomstick to fit through such that two people can then use it to lift the stone. It’s a humorous contradiction – the suave and luxurious marble making room for such a humble device to add something to the lamp’s functionality...

There is a small but significant detail on Achille and Pier Giacomo Castiglioni’s Arco lamp which Konstantin Grcic admires. A hole runs through the solid rectangular marble base, wide enough for a broomstick to fit through such that two people can then use it to lift the stone. It’s a humorous contradiction – the suave and luxurious marble making room for such a humble device to add something to the lamp’s functionality. This detail is one that Grcic has applied to the six objects in the new VOLUMES collection for Galerie kreo. Executed in solid Bleu de Savoie stone, the pieces all have the same circular void cut through their bases. But while Arco is a lamp, VOLUMES has no such straightforward domestic function. The floor-standing pieces instead remain open-en-ded propositions for speculative uses. While Grcic is well-known for engineering his industrial designs down to the smallest detail, he saw this project as an exercise in simplicity, both in expression and construction. The idea was to create objects that could be made using a singular mate-rial, without added structures or supports – they are sculpted rather than constructed. “I instantly thought of these objects as made out of stone,” says Grcic. “As such they are cut away from a solid block rather than built up from different elements and components, which is my normal way of thinking and doing.” However, the execution is more complicated than it might first appear. After each block has been cut into its desired shape, the freshly cut surface has a smooth and unna-tural finish. This is a state that, typically, is emphasised and further polished for domestic use. But in a gesture that runs counter to the collection’s domestic intention, the stone surfaces of the VOLUMES objects have been sandblasted, recreating something akin to the stone’s natural and grainy texture. There is an inherent contradiction in this man-made naturalness that is both ap-pealing and mystifying, befitting the question around what these objects are designed to do. VOLUMES conjures up other equally mute and monolithic structures which hint at functions that are unfamiliar or unknown. Consider flint axes from the Stone Age, clearly shaped into tools but now worn down enough to be confused with small rocks weathered by nature. Or the monolith most of us carry in our pocket – a black, shiny tablet that re-veals its content at the touch of a thumb-print. Used as a tool to access digital-only data, this device has a mostly mineral body and, in the hands of future generations, may come to seem as foreign as the black monolithic slabs in science fiction author Arthur C. Clar-ke’s 1968 Space Odyssey, transformed into a cinematic masterpiece by Stanley Kubrick. In Space Odyssey, Clarke describes the monolith as a machine, but nobody remembers what for.

Grcic’s monoliths have similarly ambivalent characters. They have six distinct forms, approximately of the same volume as a stool or chair, hinting at their suggested purpose, but not enough to reveal their exact functions. There is a novelty and daring in this non-prescribed use. In that sense, VOLUMES is an experiment in abstraction and one that is quite different to other collections that Grcic has created for Galerie kreo. His first solo show Champions appropriated the branding of sports equipment, applying hand-painted graphics to the metal legs of tables. The second, Man Machine, pushed the func-tion and use of sheet glass, while Hieronymus experimented with the creation of furniture as rooms within rooms. The abstraction of VOLUMES is, therefore, an intriguing turn away from the cerebral and towards the instinctive – towards making objects of uncertain use.


Johanna Agerman Ross
Curator of Twentieth Century and Contemporary Furniture and Product Design at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London
Founder of the quarterly design journal Disegno

Exhibition Images

Available Works

Vintage
Image

Joseph-André Motte

Image

Jaime Hayon

Image

Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec

Image

François Bauchet

Image

Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Olivier Gagnère

Image

Konstantin Grcic (1965) was trained as a cabinet maker at The John Makepeace School (Dorset, England) before studying Design at the Royal College of Art in London. Since setting up his own practice Konstantin Grcic Industrial Design (KGID) in Munich in 1991, he has developed furniture, products and lighting for some of the leading companies in the design field. Amongst his renowned clients are Authentics, BD Ediciones, ClassiCon, Flos, Magis, Mattiazzi, Muji, Nespresso, Plank, Serafino Zani, Thomas-Rosenthal and Vitra...

Image

Image
 

113
Volumes
Konstantin Grcic

08 juin - 22 septembre, 2018

Galerie kreo
31, Rue Dauphine
75006 Paris
+ 33 (0) 1 53 10 23 00
Image

Il est un petit détail, néanmoins significatif, sur la lampe Arco d’Achille et Pier Giacomo Castiglioni que Konstantin Grcic admire. Un trou traverse la base rectangulaire en marbre, assez large pour y glisser un manche à balai, de sorte que deux personnes puissent l’utiliser pour soulever la pierre...

Il est un petit détail, néanmoins significatif, sur la lampe Arco d’Achille et Pier Giacomo Castiglioni que Konstantin Grcic admire. Un trou traverse la base rectangulaire en marbre, assez large pour y glisser un manche à balai, de sorte que deux personnes puissent l’utiliser pour soulever la pierre. C’est une drôle de contradiction : associer le marbre raffiné et luxueux à un objet si modeste pour parfaire la fonctionnalité de la lampe. Ce détail a été appliqué par Grcic aux six objets de la nouvelle collection VOLUMES conçue pour la Galerie kreo. Réalisées dans une pierre bleue, le bleu de Savoie, les pièces comportent toutes ce même vide circulaire traversant leur base. Toutefois, si Arco est une lampe, VOLUMES n’a pas de fonction domestique aussi évidente. Au contraire, les pièces présentées constituent des propositions ouvertes et libres. Réputé pour penser ses dessins industriels dans les moindres détails, Grcic a vu ce projet comme un exercice de simplification, tant dans l’expression que dans la construc-tion. L’idée était de créer des objets pouvant être fabriqués avec un matériau unique, sans structure ou support supplémentaire. « J’ai tout de suite imaginé ces objets faits de pierre », affirme Grcic. « Ils sont découpés dans un bloc massif plutôt que construits à partir de différents éléments et composants. C’est une approche qui correspond à ma manière habituelle de penser et de faire ». Cependant, la réalisation est plus compliquée qu’il n’y paraît. Une fois chaque bloc taillé dans la forme désirée, la finition de leur surface demeure lisse. Pour un usage do-mestique, la finition est habituellement mise en valeur et le polissage est accentué. Dans un geste qui va à l’encontre de cet usage, la surface des objets en pierre VOLUMES a été sablée, créant ainsi un aspect semblable à la texture naturelle de la pierre. Il y a une contradiction inhérente à l’aspect naturel d’une construction artificielle qui est à la fois attrayante et déconcertante. VOLUMES évoque d’autres structures toutes aussi muettes et monolithiques qui font allusion à des fonctions insolites ou inconnues. Prenez par exemple les silex de l’âge de pierre, clairement conçus comme outils, ils sont suffisamment usés de nos jours pour être confondus avec de petites pierres érodées par la nature. De même, le monolithe que la plupart d’entre nous avons dans notre poche, une tablette noire et brillante qui révèle son contenu au toucher de notre pouce. Utilisé comme outil d’accès aux données numériques, ce dispositif possède un corps essentiellement minéral. Dans les mains des générations futures, il pourrait sembler aussi étranger que les monolithes noirs de L’Odyssée de l’espace, roman de science-fiction écrit par Arthur C. Clarke en 1968 et transformé en chef-d’œuvre cinématographique par Stanley Kubrick. Dans L’Odyssée de l’espace, Clarke décrit le monolithe comme une machine dont personne ne se souvient de la fonction.

Les monolithes de Grcic ont des caractères ambivalents. Ils ont six formes dis-tinctes, approximativement du même volume qu’un tabouret ou une chaise, ce qui laisse entendre leur usage suggéré, mais n’est pas suffisant pour révéler leur fonction exacte. Cette utilisation non déterminée est inédite et audacieuse. En ce sens, VOLUMES est une expérience abstraite très différente des autres collections créées par Grcic pour la Galerie kreo. Sa première exposition personelle Champions s’est appropriée l’image des équipements sportifs par l’application de graphismes lacqués à la main sur les pieds mé-talliques des tables. La deuxième, Man Machine, a poussé la fonction et l’utilisation du verre, tandis que Hieronymus a expérimenté la création de meubles comme des microar-chitectures. Le caractère abstrait de VOLUMES est un intrigant détournement; du cérébral vers l’instinctif et vers la fabrication d’objets d’un usage incertain.

Images de l'exposition

Pièces disponibles

Vintage
Image

Joseph-André Motte

Image

Jaime Hayon

Image

Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec

Image

François Bauchet

Image

Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec

Image

Konstantin Grcic

Image

Olivier Gagnère

Image

Konstantin Grcic (1965) suit une formation d’ébéniste à la John Makepeace School (Dorset, Angleterre) avant d’étudier le Design au Royal College of Art à Londres. Depuis, il a mis en place sa propre structure Konstantin Grcic Industrial Design (KGID) à Munich en 1991, et conçoit du mobilier, des objets et des luminaires pour un certain nombre d’entreprises leader dans le domaine du design. Parmi ses clients de renom figurent : Authentics, BD Ediciones, ClassiCon, Flos, Magis, Mattiazzi, Muji, Nespresso, Plank, Serafino Zani, Thomas Rosenthal et Vitra...

Image