Image

Studio Wieki Somers

Netherlands — b. 1976/1971

Available Works

Image

Studio Wieki Somers

Image

Studio Wieki Somers

Image

Studio Wieki Somers

Image

Studio Wieki Somers

Image

Studio Wieki Somers

Biography

Wieki Somers and Dylan van den Berg studied at Design Academy Eindhoven in the late ’90s. Since the establishment in 2003 the studio has earned international recognition for the way it introduces extraordinary fantasy in everyday objects. Through the development of a deep sensitivity for materials combined with technological detailing the studio aims to provide an enlightened reading of our environment. Through this restless experimentation with practical objects – their shapes, material and meaning, the way they are made and the way they are used – the studio’s work questions our aesthetic impulse in a subtle and often contradictory manner...

Wieki Somers and Dylan van den Berg studied at Design Academy Eindhoven in the late ’90s. Since the establishment in 2003 the studio has earned international recognition for the way it introduces extraordinary fantasy in everyday objects. Through the development of a deep sensitivity for materials combined with technological detailing the studio aims to provide an enlightened reading of our environment. Through this restless experimentation with practical objects – their shapes, material and meaning, the way they are made and the way they are used – the studio’s work questions our aesthetic impulse in a subtle and often contradictory manner. Studio Wieki Somers undertakes commissions for international manufacturers, museums and galleries, and enjoys a long-standing and intensive relationship with Galerie kreo in Paris, which presented a solo show‚ « Frozen in Time » in 2010, then « Mitate » in 2013.

They have received numerous awards, including the Dutch Design Award in 2013 and their works are represented in several museum collections, including the MoMA in New York, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen in Rotterdam – – which dedicated them a retrospective « Out of the Ordinary » in 2014 – and the Victoria & Albert Museum in London.

Photo credits: © Heidi de Gier

Solo Shows

Image
Solo Show

June 07 - September 21, 2013

Image
Solo Show

January 30 - March 20, 2010

Group Shows

Image
Fair

September 20 - September 26, 2021

Image
Off-site event

May 15 - September 01, 2021

Image
Group Show

September 25 - December 24, 2019

Image
Group Show

September 27 - November 17, 2018

Image
Fair

May 04 - May 08, 2017

Image
Fair

March 09 - March 19, 2017

Image
Group Show

September 12 - October 22, 2016

Image
Fair

June 13 - June 19, 2016

Image
Group Show

April 04 - May 18, 2016

Image
Fair

January 13 - January 17, 2016

Image
Group Show

November 06, 2015 - January 23, 2016

Image
Group Show

March 25 - May 23, 2015

Image
Group Show

October 30 - December 20, 2014

Image
Group Show

September 17 - October 30, 2014

Image
Group Show

September 06 - October 31, 2014

Image
Group Show

May 23 - July 26, 2014

Image
Group Show

May 21 - July 26, 2014

Image
Group Show

March 22 - June 01, 2013

Image
Group Show

October 12 - November 24, 2012

Image
Group Show

May 23 - July 28, 2012

Image
Group Show

January 12 - March 03, 2012

Image
Group Show

February 10 - May 15, 2011

Image
Group Show

September 13 - November 22, 2008

Image
Group Show

September 08 - October 13, 2007

Image
Group Show

April 21 - May 26, 2007

Image
Group Show

March 17 - April 14, 2007

Image

Studio Wieki Somers

Pays-Bas — n. 1976/1971

Biographie

Wieki Somers et Dylan van den Berg ont étudié à la Design Academy Eindhoven à la fin des années 90. Depuis sa création en 2003, le Studio Wieki Somers fait l’objet d’une reconnaissance internationale au regard de l’extraordinaire fantaisie qu’il introduit dans chacun de ses objets. En développant une profonde sensibilité pour les matériaux, associée à la précision technologique, le studio entend promouvoir une lecture éclairée de notre environnement. Son œuvre questionne nos désirs esthétiques de manière subtile et souvent contradictoire, à travers une recherche permanente portée sur les objets usuels (leurs formes, matériaux et sens, leur conception et leur usage)...

Wieki Somers et Dylan van den Berg ont étudié à la Design Academy Eindhoven à la fin des années 90. Depuis sa création en 2003, le Studio Wieki Somers fait l’objet d’une reconnaissance internationale au regard de l’extraordinaire fantaisie qu’il introduit dans chacun de ses objets. En développant une profonde sensibilité pour les matériaux, associée à la précision technologique, le studio entend promouvoir une lecture éclairée de notre environnement. Son œuvre questionne nos désirs esthétiques de manière subtile et souvent contradictoire, à travers une recherche permanente portée sur les objets usuels (leurs formes, matériaux et sens, leur conception et leur usage). Le Studio Wieki Somers répond aux commandes de fabricants, musées et galeries dans le monde entier ; et entretient à propos une collaboration étroite et durable avec la Galerie kreo à Paris, laquelle lui a dédiée deux expositions « Frozen in Time » en 2010 et « Mitate » en 2013.

Le studio a reçu de nombreuses récompenses, dont le Dutch Design Award en 2013 et ses œuvres sont exposées dans différentes collections muséales, notamment celles du MoMA à New York, le Centre Pompidou à Paris, le Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen à Rotterdam – qui leur a d’ailleurs consacré une rétrospective, « Out of the Ordinary » en 2014 – et le Victoria & Albert Museum à Londres.

Crédits photo : © Heidi de Gier

Expositions personnelles

Image
Exposition personnelle

07 juin - 21 septembre, 2013

Image
Exposition personnelle

30 janvier - 20 mars, 2010

Expositions de groupe

Image
Foires

20 septembre - 26 septembre, 2021

Image
Hors les murs

15 mai - 01 septembre, 2021

Image
Exposition de groupe

25 septembre - 24 décembre, 2019

Image
Exposition de groupe

27 septembre - 17 novembre, 2018

Image
Foires

04 mai - 08 mai, 2017

Image
Foires

09 mars - 19 mars, 2017

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 septembre - 22 octobre, 2016

Image
Foires

13 juin - 19 juin, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

04 avril - 18 mai, 2016

Image
Foires

13 janvier - 17 janvier, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

06 novembre, 2015 - 23 janvier, 2016

Image
Exposition de groupe

25 mars - 23 mai, 2015

Image
Exposition de groupe

30 octobre - 20 décembre, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

17 septembre - 30 octobre, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

06 septembre - 31 octobre, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

23 mai - 26 juillet, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

21 mai - 26 juillet, 2014

Image
Exposition de groupe

22 mars - 01 juin, 2013

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 octobre - 24 novembre, 2012

Image
Exposition de groupe

23 mai - 28 juillet, 2012

Image
Exposition de groupe

12 janvier - 03 mars, 2012

Image
Exposition de groupe

10 février - 15 mai, 2011

Image
Exposition de groupe

13 septembre - 22 novembre, 2008

Image
Exposition de groupe

08 septembre - 13 octobre, 2007

Image
Exposition de groupe

21 avril - 26 mai, 2007

Image
Exposition de groupe

17 mars - 14 avril, 2007