Hella Jongerius

Image
Image
This year, the BNO Piet Zwart Award jury has unanimously declared designer Hella Jongerius the recipient of this year's prize. This award not only recognises her outstanding career, or her research and experimentation with colours, materials and textures, which continues to make her a pioneer in the world of design, but also her importance for current and future generations of designers.
Image

Winner of the Piet Zwart Prize
of the BNO 2021

Image
 
After studying at the Eindhoven Design Academy (then AIVE), Jongerius became known for her designs made of unusual materials, such as the Soft Urn and a soft, flexible washbasin. In 1993, she founded her own studio, Jongeriuslab, now based in Berlin, where she still lives and works. She has reinvented her own practice several times, and works with an internationally dispersed network of designers under her direction.
Image
 
 

As an internationally renowned designer, Jongerius now works with brands such as Vitra, Ikea, KLM, Danskina, Maharam and Artek. Her work has been exhibited in museums and galleries such as the Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum and MoMA (New York), the Design Museum and Victoria & Albert Museum (London), Moss Gallery (New York) and Galerie kreo (Paris, London).

The BNO Piet Zwart Prize is a recognition of the Dutch designer's work as a whole, as she is constantly pushing the boundaries of design.

The prize will not be awarded until spring 2022, at an event with special content dedicated to Hella Jongerius.

 

Breathing Colors, 2017
Design Museum - UK

Image Image Image

Misfits, 2010
Bojimans - Netherlands

Image Image

Natura Design Magistra, 2009
Galerie kreo - France

Image Image Image

New works
Diamond Vases & Facet Bottles
Galerie kreo Edition

Image
‘Diamond Vase’ and 'Facet Bottle' are made of porcelain, which is quite unusual for objects of this size. The facetted surfaces are combined with a textured pattern that is meticulously carved out of the porcelain by hand. The bold and saturated colours are applied in blocks. New colours are created in the overlap between the layers of matte and shiny glaze.
Image Image

Hella Jongerius, Winner of the Piet Zwart Prize of the BNO 2021

Hella Jongerius

Image
Image
Cette année, le jury du Piet Zwart Award de la BNO a déclaré à l'unanimité la designer Hella Jongerius Lauréate du Prix 2021. Ce prix récompense non seulement son parcours exceptionnel, son travail de recherche et d’experimentation notamment sur les couleurs, les matériaux et les textures qui continue à faire d’elle une pionnière dans le monde du design, mais aussi son importance pour les générations actuelles et futures de designers.
Image

Lauréate du Prix Piet Zwart
de la BNO 2021

Image
 
Après avoir étudié à l'Académie de design d'Eindhoven (alors AIVE), Jonegrius s'est faite remarquer par ses créations dans des matériaux inhabituels, comme la Soft Urn et un lavabo souple et flexible. En 1993, elle a fondé son propre studio, Jongeriuslab, aujourd’hui basé à Berlin, où elle vit et travaille toujours. Elle a réinventé sa propre pratique à plusieurs reprises, et travaille aujourd’hui avec un réseau de designers dispersés à l'international sous sa direction.
Image
 
 

Designer à la renommée internationale, Jongerius collabore aujourd’hui avec des marques telles que Vitra, Ikea, KLM, Danskina, Maharam et Artek. Son œuvre a été exposée dans des musées et galeries tels le Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum et le MoMA (New York), le Design Museum et le Victoria & Albert Museum (Londres), la Moss Gallery (New York) et la galerie kreo (Paris, Londres).

En récompensant l’ensemble de son travail, le prix Piet Zwart de la BNO représente une consécration pour la designer hollandaise qui cherche sans cesse à pousser les limites du design.

Le prix ne sera décerné qu'au printemps 2022, lors d'un événement au contenu spécial consacré à Hella Jongerius.

 

Breathing Colors, 2017
Design Museum - Royaume-Uni

Image Image Image

Misfits, 2010
Bojimans - Pays-Bas

Image Image

Natura Design Magistra, 2009
Galerie kreo - France

Image Image Image

Nouvelles pièces
Diamond vase & Facet bottle
Edition Galerie kreo

Image
Les 'Diamond Vase' et 'Facet Bottle' sont réaliséw en porcelaine, ce qui est assez inhabituel pour des objets de cette très grande dimension. Les surfaces facettées brisent la lumière et la couleur mettant en valeur ces changements liés à leurs emplacements : dans la lumière ou l'ombre, sur une partie creuse ou convexe. Ces surfaces sont combinées à un motif texturé, méticuleusement sculpté à la main. Les couleurs vives et saturées sont placées sur la pièce ‘en blocs’. Des couches d'émail mat et brillant se superposent, créant ainsi de nouvelles couleurs.
Image Image

Hella Jongerius Lauréate du Prix Piet Zwart de la BNO 2021

Hella Jongerius Lauréate du Prix Piet Zwart de la BNO 2021