kreo in motion

 

kreo in motion is a series of short films re-imagining pieces of the gallery through the eye of talented motion designers and animator.

Every month a series of 3 animations will be posted at regular intervals. Each series will be dedicated to the creative practice of a different motion designer.
Blank canvas to…

 

602 by Kirill Pyrev

To start off the series, Kirill has picked Cini Boeri’s beautiful table light from 1968. This retro-futuristic ‘602’ model was designed by Boeri, and produced by Gino Sarfatti’s light company Arteluce. Its main body, made of rigid industrial PVC piping, includes a system that allows the main arm to pivot. Kirill’s animation highlights the lamp’s slowly evolving body, as well as its unctuous finish.

Game On Side Table by Kirill Pyrev

Playfulness is at the centre of Kirill’s second animation, as the motion designer composes a delightful image of Jaime Hayon’s equally playful ‘Game On’ side table, with a lively and rhythmic tune. In this animation, Kirill deconstructs an imaginary slab of marble to reveal Jaime Hayon’s patterned side table, composed of Carrara white marble. The repetition of the circular geometric pattern all along the table creates a striking contrast with the natural veins of the marble.

Jellyfish by Jean-Baptiste Fastrez

Up and down go the blue tentacles of Jean-Baptiste Fastrez’s ‘Jellyfish’ chandelier in Kirill’s last animation. Fastrez’s ‘Jellyfish’ light, composed of a white polycarbonate lampshade and blue anodised aluminium pendants, suggests the shape of the eponymous water creature, whose umbrella-shaped bell here has swapped its natural luminescence for an electric light, running down the sides of geometric metallic tentacles. With a dreamy sound to accompany the motions of the marine animal, Kirill proposes a wondrous last animation to close his participation to the kreo in motion series.

SDOOW4L Desk by Marco Serraca

In this first animation, Marco Serraca sets Jasper Morrison’s ‘SDOOW4L’ desk against an atmospheric nude background, drawing attention to the piece’s simple construction and polished contours.

M.C Side Table by Marco Serraca

Marco Serraca’s second animation interprets Pierre Charpin’s ‘MC Side Table’ — a generously curved Marquinia black marble structure playfully adorned with a Rosso Francia marble ball. In the animation, Marco sees the red ball rolling to its elevated counterpart, resulting in a beautiful two-coloured marble composition.

608 by Marco Serraca

In his third and last animation, Marco Serraca brings life to Gino Sarfatti’s ‘608’ table lamp from 1971. Playing on the minimal and essential design of the desk lamp — made up of a black base and a large, frosted light bulb — Marco pays tribute to the Italian master’s ingenuity, still an important source of influence for designers of today.

Facet Bottle — Day by Roy Veldkamp

Roy Veldkamp re-imagines Hella Jongerius — Day’ ‘Facet Bottle’ as light-diffused molding blocks slowly falling into place. The blocks create a facetted surface pattern on the object, just like Hella’s paint crosses over different textures of the ceramic vase.

Mini Satellite 3 by Roy Veldkamp

Roy Veldkamp's second animation focusing on Pierre Charpin’s ‘Satellite’ mirror. Forming part of Charpin’s eponymous collection of polygon mirrors, the present piece boasts a triangular reflective surface bordered by three honey-yellow frames. With his cadenced animation of floating satellites orbiting around the centrepiece, Roy enhances the playful and rhythmic dialogue between the mirror and the colourful frames.

Signal C1 polychromatic by Roy Veldkamp

Roy Veldkamp’s last animation looks at Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby’s 'Signals’ collection, and specifically the ‘Signal C1’ Polychromatic ceiling light. Roy envisions Edward and Jay's lamp as a host of attraction between geometric shapes, together creating a harmonic synergy of sounds.

Facet Vase — Ancient Greece by Nicole Peterson

Nicole Peterson takes Olivier Gagnère’s glossy Facet Vase — Ancient Greece as subject. In her animation, the object twirls into shape, before becoming adorned by shiny protruding domes in golden and white finishes.

Dyade by Nicole Peterson

Nicole Peterson’s third animation transforms Julie Richoz’s ‘Dyade’ lamp into a mesmerizing geometrical fantasy. In Nicole’s animation, the ‘Dyade’ is envisioned as a black structure in rotation, with a luminous central element deploying in accordion-like motion. The nude and pastel backgrounds against which the object is set suggest a domestic space for the tall ‘Dyade’, shedding light on its functional nature.

Stargate Swing by Nicole Peterson

In this animation Nicole Peterson animates Jean-Baptiste Fastrez's magical Stargate Swing. Fragmented pieces of the glossy swing structure fit together as we see it during the day and at night.

Embryo by Jake Tyas

In this animation, Jake Tyas illustrates Marc Newson’s iconic 'Embryo chair'. Monochrome, glitchy water-like blotches bubble into shape to slowly make up the 'Embryo chair'.

Hymy side table by Jake Tyas

Initially inspired by Jaime Hayon’s 'Hymy' side table, illustrator and motion designer Jake Tyas plays with the anthropomorphic quality of the piece by transforming it into a character, surrounded by a gang of similar-looking creatures. In the short, the characters fill the screen, fighting for space as they expand until ultimately popping like balloons, one by one. Only the central character remains and slowly deflates, to finally transform into Jaime's Hymy side table.

Bench 165 by Jake Tyas

In his third and final animation, Jake Tyas illustrates Guillaume Bardet’s 'Bronze Bench'. His hand drawn character morphs from shape to shape until finding ultimate happiness in the form of the bench.
Eléonore de Valera
View Eléonore's instagram

Fraction Dining Table by Eléonore de Valera

Eléonore de Valera’s animation, slowly revealing the geometry of Pierre Charpin’s ‘Fraction’ dining table top. Defined by intersecting segments separating four sections of enamelled lava stone, Charpin’s table top feels at once organic and vibrant — brought to life by Eléonore’s hypnotic sense of line and colour.

2095/9 by Eléonore de Valera

In Eléonore de Valera’s animation, Gino Sarfatti’s ‘2095/9’ ceiling light appears in radiant and haptic form — its bulbs like a river of beads falling in a spiral, against a distinctly vibrant purple ground. Eléonore de Valera composes the wires first, and then the bulbs, one by one in simple lines, in a signature chromatic style — finally revealing the succession of bulbs that constitutes Sarfatti’s delectable piece.

Melancholia Mirror by Eléonore de Valera

L'animation d'Eléonore de Valera a pour sujet le « Melancholia Mirror » de François Bauchet, un objet qui doit son nom à la gravure éponyme d'Albrecht Dürer. Dans les nombreuses facettes sérigraphiées du miroir, des motifs abstraits apparaissent, ainsi que la suggestion d'une silhouette figurative dans la partie inférieure du miroir : la forme à peine esquissée du visage de Dürer. L'objet apparaît ainsi comme un portrait et un autoportrait, changeant sans cesse avec le déplacement des perspectives. Tout en contenant la marque permanente de la présence de Dürer, le miroir évoque également les reflets fugaces d'observateurs de passage - les deux s'entremêlant pour un instant seulement. Eléonore de Valera traduit ce sentiment de fugacité par un mouvement réel, avec ses lignes graphiques et son lavis violet caractéristiques.

Azo-x large side table by Rohan Mudgal

Rohan Mudgal’s clean and minimal animation honours the recognizable brick red colour and sleek design of François Bauchet’s ‘Azo-X Large Side Table’. In the first of three short animations, segments of the Azo-X table base float on a white canvas. These hollowed slices twirl while the whole table rotates, and slowly all pieces fall into place.

London Calling by Rohan Mudgal

Rohan Mudgal’s animation gives a nod to our London space by focusing on Konstantin Grcic’s recognizable piece ‘London Calling'. Inspired by the iconic Routemaster double-decker buses that used to frequent London, the piece pays homage to the narrow staircase at their back which connected the lower and upper decks. "I vividly remember countless travels across town, sitting upstairs in the front row, and watching London’s big city lights as they passed by below me. Of course, LONDON CALLING is not about bus travel. However, the title evokes fond memories I have for the city I once lived in” K.G. In Rohan’s animation, as the oak elements circle, it feels almost as though we are walking up the stairs to the top deck to see the view.

Quobus 1,2,4 by Rohan Mudgal

Rohan Mudgal’s second animation features the monochrome blue modular bookshelf from Marc Newson's 'Quobus' series. The animation highlights the playful aspect of the Quobus shelves, deconstructing them even further than just their separate modules; groove by groove, and flat surface by flat surface. Rohan's imagery, paired with his original sound design, sweeps us into a tranquil whirlwind as if in a dream. As the elements come together, the final shot depicts the inherent versatility of the shelves, showing how they can be used to hold just about anything.

Bended Mirror #3 by Maxime Pouillot

In Maxime Pouillot’s third and last animation, Muller van Severen’s 'bended mirror' skips in circular motions like a shiny humanoid and then stops — rising out of sight to produce a shower of confetti. This playful animation bringing life to the Belgian designers’ curved object coincides with the celebration of their 10 years of collaboration.

Chains Mineral by Maxime Pouillot

In this animation, Maxime Pouillot plays with the seemingly endless movement of Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec’s ‘Chains’. As each bell lights up at an increasing pace, the piece altogether takes form, finally tripling and mingling to the sound of ringing bells.

kreo in motion

 

kreo in motion est une série de courts-métrages ré-interpretant des pièces de la galerie à travers l'œil de talentueux motion designers.

Chaque mois, une série de trois animations est mise en ligne à intervalles réguliers. Chaque série est consacrée à la pratique créative d'un motion designer différent.
Carte blanche à...
 

602 par Kirill Pyrev

Pour commencer sa série d'animation, Kirill a choisi la magnifique lampe de table « 602 » de Cini Boeri datant de 1968. Ce modèle rétro-futuriste est produit par Arteluce, la société d'éclairage de Gino Sarfatti. Son corps principal, fait de tuyaux industriels rigides en PVC, comprend un système qui permet au bras principal de pivoter. L'animation de Kirill met en évidence le corps de la lampe qui évolue lentement, ainsi que sa finition onctueuse.

Game On Side Table par Kirill Pyrev

La seconde animation de Kirill propose une image délicieuse de la table d'appoint « Game On » de Jaime Hayon, sur un air ludique, joyeux et rythmé. Dans cette animation, Kirill déconstruit une dalle de marbre imaginaire pour révéler la table d'appoint à motifs de Jaime Hayon, composée de marbre blanc de Carrare. La répétition du motif géométrique circulaire tout au long de la table crée un contraste saisissant avec les veines naturelles du marbre.

Jellyfish par Jean-Baptiste Fastrez

Des tentacules bleues apparaissent petit à petit pour composer la suspension « Jellyfish » de Jean-Baptiste Fastrez. Composée d'un abat-jour en polycarbonate blanc et de pendentifs en aluminium anodisé bleu, suggère la forme de la créature aquatique éponyme, dont la cloche en forme de parapluie a ici troqué sa luminescence naturelle pour une lumière électrique, parcourant les côtés de tentacules métalliques géométriques. Avec un son rêveur pour accompagner les mouvements de l'animal marin, Kirill propose une dernière animation merveilleuse pour clore sa participation à la série kreo in motion.

SDOOW4L Desk par Marco Serraca

Dans cette première animation, Marco présente le bureau « SDOOW4L » de Jasper Morrison sur un fond nu atmosphérique, attirant l'attention sur la construction simple et les contours polis de la pièce.

M.C Side Table par Marco Serraca

La deuxième animation de Marco Serraca réinterprète la « MC Side Table » de Pierre Charpin - une structure en marbre noir Marquinia aux courbes généreuses, agrémentée d'une boule en marbre Rosso Francia. Dans l'animation, Marco fait glisser la boule rouge jusqu'à son homologue surélevée, ce qui donne lieu à une magnifique composition de marbre bicolore.

608 by Marco Serraca

Dans sa troisième et dernière animation, Marco Serraca donne vie à la lampe de table « 608 » de Gino Sarfatti, datant de 1971. Jouant sur le design minimal et essentiel de la lampe de bureau - composée d'une base noire et d'une grande ampoule dépolie - Marco rend hommage à l'ingéniosité du maître italien, qui reste encore aujourd’hui une source d'influence importante pour les designers.

Facet Bottle — Day par Roy Veldkamp

Roy Veldkamp imagine le vase « Facet Bottle — Day » d'Hella Jongerius comme des blocs de moulage diffusés par la lumière qui se mettent lentement en place. Les blocs créent un motif de surface à facettes sur l'objet, tout comme la peinture de Hella traverse les différentes textures du vase en céramique.

Mini Satellite 3 par Roy Veldkamp

La deuxième animation de Roy Veldkamp est consacrée au miroir « Satellite » de Pierre Charpin. Faisant partie de la collection éponyme de miroirs polygonaux de Charpin, la présente pièce présente une surface réfléchissante triangulaire bordée de trois cadres jaune miel. Avec son animation cadencée de satellites flottants en orbite autour de la pièce centrale, Roy renforce le dialogue ludique et rythmique entre le miroir et les cadres colorés.

Signal C1 polychromatic par Roy Veldkamp

La dernière animation de Roy Veldkamp porte sur la collection « Signals » d'Edward Barber et Jay Osgerby, et plus particulièrement sur le plafonnier « Signal C1 polychromatic ». Roy imagine la lampe d'Edward et de Jay comme un hôte d'attraction entre des formes géométriques, créant ensemble une synergie harmonique de sons.

Facet Vase — Ancient Greece par Nicole Peterson

Dans cette animation, Nicole Peterson a pris pour sujet le vase d'Olivier Gagnère, le « Facet Vase - Grèce antique ». Dans son animation, l'objet prend forme en tournoyant, avant de se parer de dômes brillants en saillie, dans des finitions dorées et blanches.

Dyade par Nicole Peterson

La troisième animation de Nicole Peterson transforme la lampe « Dyade » de Julie Richoz en une géométrique envoûtante. Dans l'animation de Nicole, la « Dyade » est envisagée comme une structure noire en rotation, avec un élément central lumineux qui se déploie en accordéon. Les fonds nus et pastels sur lesquels l'objet est placé suggèrent un espace domestique pour la grande « Dyade », mettant en lumière sa nature fonctionnelle.

Stargate Swing par Nicole Peterson

Dans cette animation, Nicole Peterson anime la balançoire « Stargate Swing » de Jean-Baptiste Fastrez. Des morceaux fragmentés de la structure brillante de la balançoire s'assemblent au fur et à mesure que nous la voyons alternant entre le jour et la nuit.

Embryo par Jake Tyas

Dans sa deuxième animation, Jake Tyas illustre l'emblématique chaise « Embryo » de Marc Newson. Des taches monochromes et troubles, semblables à de l'eau, prennent forme et composent lentement la chaise « Embryo ».

Hymy side table par Jake Tyas

Initialement inspiré par la table d'appoint « Hymy » de Jaime Hayon, l'illustrateur et motion designer Jake Tyas joue avec la qualité anthropomorphique de la pièce en la transformant en un personnage, entouré d'une bande de créatures à l'apparence similaire. Dans le court métrage, les personnages remplissent l'écran, se battant pour l'espace alors qu'ils s'agrandissent jusqu'à finir par éclater comme des ballons, les uns après les autres. Seul le personnage central reste et se dégonfle lentement, pour finalement se transformer en la table d'appoint « Hymy » de Jaime Hayon.

Bench 165 par Jake Tyas

Dans cette animation, Jake Tyas illustre le banc de bronze de Guillaume Bardet. Son personnage dessiné à la main se transforme de forme en forme jusqu'à trouver son bonheur sous la forme du banc.
Eléonore de Valera
Voir l'instagram d'Eléonore

Fraction Dining Table par Eléonore de Valera

La première animation d'Eléonore de Valera révèle lentement la géométrie du plateau de la table à manger « Fraction » de Pierre Charpin. Défini par des segments qui se croisent et séparent quatre sections de pierre de lave émaillée, le plateau de table de Charpin est à la fois organique et vibrant. Il prend vie grâce au sens hypnotique des lignes et des couleurs d’Eléonore.

2095/9 par Eléonore de Valera

Dans cette animation d'Eléonore de Valera, le plafonnier « 2095/9 » de Gino Sarfatti apparaît sous une forme radieuse et haptique - ses ampoules comme une rivière de perles tombant en spirale, sur un fond violet nettement vibrant. Eléonore de Valera compose d'abord les fils, puis les ampoules, une à une, en lignes simples, dans un style chromatique caractéristique - révélant finalement la succession d'ampoules qui constitue la merveilleuse pièce de Sarfatti

Melancholia Mirror par Eléonore de Valera

'Melancholia Mirror' by François Bauchet — an object that owes its name to Albrecht Dürer's engraving of the same name. Within the mirror’s several serigraphed facets, abstract patterns appear, as well as the suggestion of a figurative silhouette in the lower portion of the mirror: the barely sketched form of Dürer’s face. 

The object thus posits as a portrait and a self-portrait, ever-changing with shifting perspectives. While containing the perennial mark of Dürer’s presence, the mirror also evinces the fleeting reflections of passing observers — the two intertwined for only a moment in time.

Azo-x large side table par Rohan Mudgal

L'animation épurée et minimale de Rohan Mudgal rend hommage à la couleur rouge brique reconnaissable et au design épuré de la grande table d'appoint « Azo-X » de François Bauchet. Dans la première de trois courtes animations, des segments de la base de la table Azo-X flottent sur une toile blanche. Ces tranches creusées virevoltent tandis que la table entière tourne, et lentement, toutes les pièces se mettent en place.

London Calling par Rohan Mudgal

Cette animation de Rohan Mudgal fait un clin d'œil à notre espace londonien en se concentrant sur la pièce reconnaissable de Konstantin Grcic « London Calling ». Inspirée des emblématiques bus à deux étages Routemaster qui fréquentaient Londres, la pièce rend hommage à l'étroit escalier situé à leur arrière qui reliait les ponts inférieur et supérieur. « Je me souviens très bien d'innombrables voyages à travers la ville, assis à l'étage au premier rang, et observant les lumières de la grande ville de Londres qui défilaient en dessous de moi. Bien sûr, LONDON CALLING n'a rien à voir avec les voyages en bus. Cependant, le titre évoque les bons souvenirs que j'ai de la ville où j'ai vécu. » K.G. Dans l'animation de Rohan, les éléments en chêne tournant en rond donnent l'impression de monter les escaliers jusqu'au pont supérieur pour admirer la vue.

Quobus 1,2,4 par Rohan Mudgal

L'animation de Rohan Mudgal présente l'étagère modulaire bleue monochrome de la série « Quobus » de Marc Newson. L'animation met en évidence l'aspect ludique des étagères Quobus, en les déconstruisant encore plus loin que leurs modules séparés ; rainure par rainure, et surface plane par surface plane. L'imagerie de Rohan, associée à sa conception sonore originale, nous entraîne dans un tourbillon tranquille, comme dans un rêve. Au fur et à mesure que les éléments s'assemblent, le plan final illustre la polyvalence inhérente aux étagères, montrant comment elles peuvent être utilisées pour contenir toutes sortes de choses.

Bended Mirror #3 par Maxime Pouillot

Dans cette animation de Maxime Pouillot, le miroir courbé de Muller van Severen effectue des mouvements circulaires comme un humanoïde brillant, puis s'arrête - s'élevant hors de vue pour produire une pluie de confettis. Cette animation ludique donnant vie à l'objet courbe des designers belges coïncide avec la célébration de leurs 10 ans de collaboration.

Chains Mineral par Maxime Pouillot

Dans cette animation, Maxime Pouillot joue avec le mouvement sans fin des "Chains" de Ronan et Erwan Bouroullec. Alors que chaque cloche s'allume à un rythme croissant, la pièce prend forme, pour finalement apparaître complète et se mêler au son des cloches.